HRPP heading for landslide win in Samoan election

Crushing defeat for the opposition Tautua Samoa Party. Palusalue and Afualo show the party newspaper. Image: Newsline Samoa

By Mataeliga Pio Sioa in Apia

The numbers are favouring a landslide win for the ruling Human Rights Protection Party in the Samoan general election with 21 or 43 percent of the 49 seats in Parliament already assured in provisional results today.

A Newsline analysis of the election in the remaining 28 constituencies left to be contested on polling day, may see the HRPP claim a further 21 seats for an overall tally of 42 seats or 86 percent.

The final tally, however, will depend on how the allocation is made of the five seats assured for women in Parliament .

The Minister of Justice, Fiame Naomi Mataafa is already in, so that leaves 4 seats to be decided either by outright win in the constituencies, or on the count of the highest votes won.

The opposition Tautua Samoa Party has only 9 current sitting members in the running to retain their seats.

Party leader Palusalue Fa’apo II is locked up in a tight three-way battle for the Safata West constituency with the Minister of Works, Manu’alesagalala Enokati.

MP Lefau Harry Schuster has two HRPP candidates coming after his Vaimauga i Sisifo Tautua seat.

Fierce challenge
HRPP candidate Faaolesa Katopau Ainuu is mounting a fierce challenge to win the seat away from the Tautua incumbent.

Faleata Sasa’e MP Aveau Niko Palamo is the lone Tautua trying to fight off the challenge to his seat by three other candidates, all bearing the HRPP banner.

A’ana Alofi No. 3 Constituency is a Tautua seat firmly in the hands of Toeolesulusulu Cedric Schuster. But he has two HRPP candidates gunning for his place.

The Tautua current sitting MPs in Savai’i are clinging to the constituencies of Fa’asaleleaga No.2, Vaisigano No. 2, Falealupo, Salega East and Salega West.

Fa’asaleleaga No.2 MP Papali’i Taeu Masipau is flanked on both sides by two HRPP candidates.

Motuopua’a Aisoli Vaai, is brush off for the third consecutive time the designs of his lone opponent, and HRPP candidate, Tapusatele Mauteni Esera.

The Tautua deputy leader, Aeau Peniamina, is squared up once again against the same two HRPP candidates who were after his Falealupo seat in 2011.

The two seats for Salega East and Salega West are held respectively by Tapuai Toese Ah Sam and Afualo Wood Salele.

Tapuai is up again two HRPP candidates and his former Tautua party colleague but now running as an Independent, Levaopolo Talatonu, who has assumed a new title, Olo Fiti Vaai.

Tautua Samoa registered 24
The Tautua Samoa officially registered 24 candidates for the general elections, including two who were disqualified in court.

The HRPP assured seats include the unopposed seats won in court by the Prime Minister, Tuilaepa Sailele Malielegaoi, Justice Minister Fiame Naomi Mataafa and Aleipata Itupa I Luga current sitting member, Amituanai Fagaivalu Samu.

The court upheld candidate challenges they brought against their respective election opponents.

The Minister of State Enterprises, Lautafi Lafi Purcell, was registered as an unopposed candidate for his Satupaitea Constituency.

The HRPP assured seats are where the only candidates in each of the constituencies are running under the party banner.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email


Comments are closed.